26.2 Reasons to Run

While out for my latest long run, I got to thinking about why I was training and what keeps me going.  It’s my personal belief that to finish a marathon, you have to have a pretty good reason to keep moving.  These are the reasons why I run:

1. Personal satisfaction

2. To keep my body healthy

3. To improve mental toughness

4. Taking pride in a huge accomplishment

5. Not feeling guilty about eating dessert

6. Getting outside and enjoying the scenery

7. Races are great excuses to travel

8. Knowing you can do something that only 1-2% of the population will ever do

9. Endorphins make you happy

10. For the race swag

11. How many other sports let you compete in the same event as your favorite elite athletes?

12. Being a part of the crazy running community

13. It’s an endless source of conversation for my husband and I

14. I like how running makes my legs look

15. Discovering new parts of your neighborhood

16. Stress relief

17. Running is fun

18. Having an extra glass of wine

19. Buying new running gear

20. Getting a great photo at the finish line

21. Someday I can tell my kids their mom is a marathoner

22. Nothing seems to difficult to achieve after you’ve finished a marathon

23. Runners are typically pretty nice people

24. You get to wear a medal all day long

25. Having hundreds of people cheering for you is pretty sweet

26. Marathoner = badass.  Period.

.2 Because 26.3 would be way too far.

Leave a comment

Filed under Chicago Marathon, Motivation, Training

Leave a comment